RTYF – Pacer Racer Challenge 2023

What a day!

With the breeze strengthening, and a record number of sailors and boats the 2023 Pacer Racer challenge got underway. 29 boats – 58 sailors took to the Swan River, and it was on!

Freshly back from their European, World, and pre-Olympic championships Zoe Thomson, Elyse Ainsworth, Nia Jerwood and international star, Mari Erdi joined Conor Nicholas, Zac Littlewood, Michael Compton, Luke (Swifto) Elliott, Stefan Elliott Shircore and Lawson McAullay all wanted to gain ‘bragging rights’ – vying for their name to be added to the RTYF Pacer Racer trophy. 

There were two starts under the black flag and the breeze strengthening the five-race program was cut to four. 

Race one – required a black flag start but the fleet finally got away, and the race was won by Luke Elliot and crew, Nicholas Cooper.

Race two – was a black flag start also. Axel Fleet & Brenn Armstrong “lead from the start” and sailed an incredible race crossing the finishing line first but the silence revealed to them that they had been disqualified for jumping the line. The winners signal went Luke and Nicholas.

Race three- the decision was made by the race officer to shorten both the course and programme despite the breeze reaching 15 – 18 knots on the water because it was cold for the kids.   ‘Swifto’ and Nicholas blitzed downhill again and took out race three. 

Race four – was a double points final heat-   a tough start ensued where all the crews put everything, they had into it. Crossing the finish line first was Lawson McAullay and Hudson Armstrong followed a few seconds later by ‘Swifto’ and Nicholas and Nia and Isla Molyneux.

The RTYF Pacer Racer Challenge not only comes with ‘bragging rights’, and the chance for our WAIS sailors to compete against each other, it also gives our up-and-coming junior sailors the opportunity to sail with and learn from some of WA’s best. 

Along with the trophy, RTYF also awards cash prizes to the top six place getters.

2023 Pacer Racer Challenge Prize winners:

1st place – Luke (Swifto) Elliott & Nicholas Cooper

2nd place – Nia Jerwood & Isla Molyneux

3rd place – Lawson McAullay & Hudson Armstrong

4th place – Michael Compton & Youri Karantonis

5th place – Conor Nicholas & Thomas Cooper

6th place – Zoe Thomson & Pia Hooper.

Our thanks to Matt Jerwood, WAIS, Chelsea Hall, RFBYC and ALL the volunteers who make this regatta happen.

Watch the RTYF Pacer Racer Challenge 2023

RTYF Pacer Racer Challenge 2023

Watch the RTYF Pacer Racer Challenge 2023

2024 Pacer Race Challenge Sunday September 8